Some countries achieve international success by building specialized facilities to train top athletes instead of providing sports facilities that everyone can use. Is it a positive or negative development?

In many countries around the world, there are many specialized sporting facilities prioritized and provided to top-level athletes rather than the general public. Even though providing such equipment for everyone to use is extremely important, I consider that providing specialized and technical assistance to high-level athletes still has a positive impact on those countries. On the one hand, providing sports and exercise facilities to the general public use allows people to enjoy the benefits and the happy feelings that doing exercise and playing sports brings, which intimately benefits a country as a whole in the long term. When given adequate facilities and equipment, citizens can improve their health and well-being through that different types of facilities such as free basketball and football court. By improving the overall health of the general population, a country will have fewer healthcare costs and a higher level of happiness and being well among its citizens. On the another hand, giving children better quality facilities for sports which will inspire a higher number of younger people to go deep into specific sports areas, giving the country the wonderful opportunity to produce more and more professional-level athletes. Moreover, the specialized facilities will make sure that the athletes can have a great performance on a world-class level stage, such as in the Olympics. In conclusion, although sporting facilities for the general public are extremely important. However, for those countries that wish to produce world-class level athletes, these particular facilities are the essential feature to achieving this goal.