Education in prison is the best way to reduce crime as prisoners will be able to get a job after leaving prison. Do you agree or disagree?

There has been a debate among different sections of society in recent times about schooling in jail is the better method to minimize violation as offenders will get employment after releasing from the jailhouse. I favor this view as education addresses the root causes of criminal behavior and motivates them towards their career paths. The main reason behind this thought is that schooling in prison often provides the opportunity for employment by offering literacy to the offenders once they leave prison. This is because they usually commit crimes due to a lack of earing sources so with the help of education, prisoners improve their skills and knowledge which are essential parts to get a job. Once offenders start to earn by using education, they stay busy with it and may be less likely to be involved in violated activities. Another reason is that through education offenders understand the value of hard work. Some jails arrange training programs for lawbreakers while in prison such as plumbing, electrical work, and carpentry and this vocational education assists offenders to create interest towards these in-demand sectors where employers approach them and offer huge amounts for their hardworking skills. Furthermore, the learning environment in the jailhouse fosters a sense of decision-making and responsibility. This means formal education introduces them to their rights and responsibilities, for instance, respect and obeying federal and local laws which help them to become responsible citizens in the country. Additionally, education positively affects the mental health of inmates by boosting their self-esteem and self-worth. As a result, criminals who participate in educational activities often experience boosts in their self-confidence and self-belief. Hence, new abilities which they acquire throughout their prison period assist them to reduce the sense of hopelessness and worthlessness. In conclusion, I think that formal education in prison is a powerful tool for reducing crime which helps their career development makes them knowledgeable and fosters abilities and duties towards society.