It has been suggested that cars and public transport should be banned from city centres and only bicycles be allowed instead. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that public transit should be prohibited from urban centres, advocating for the sole use of bikes. This essay completely agrees with that statement because the replacement of cars and mass transportation with velocipedes would reduce both pollution and traffic in central business districts. Cars and public vehicles should not be allowed in downtown because of both air and sound pollution. In other words, cars and the majority of mass transit emit carbon dioxide which triggers air pollution, also these vehicles' engines emit loud noises. Instead, bicycles do not have such an effect on atmospheric pollution and sound pollution. For example, bicycles are the most widespread mode of transportation in Hannover, Germany, to prevent air contamination; they even designated 'no car days' to further encourage cycling. Another reason why public transport should be substituted with velocipedes is the fact that it contributes to traffic congestion in central business districts during peak times. This is to say that cars and buses as the mode of mass transportation take up a lot of space on highways and cause traffic gridlock during rush hours. In contrast, bicycles are not as large as them and can mitigate these cases. For instance, numerous bicycle lanes are being constructed in Tbilisi's crowded places, aiming to relieve traffic congestion. In conclusion, while private cars and public transport lead to contamination and traffic congestion, bikes alleviate both of them; therefore, I believe that these vehicles should be forbidden in urban central places, adhering to the exclusive use of bicycles.