Many museums charge for admission while others are free. Do you think the advantages of charging people for admission to museums outweigh the disadvantages?

Many are of the belief that museums should be free to the public because of their enormous potential to educate while others feel charging money helps ensure the quality of the art therein. I concede the benefits of the latter argument but would still side with those who advocate free admissions. The main reason that many are in support of charging money is that it sustains both the maintenance and quality of exhibitions. A good example of this would be the Museum of Modern Art (MoMA) in New York City. MoMA is generally regarded as one of the finest museums in the world and is famous not only for its well-maintained facade but also for the ever-rotating artworks on display. They charge a nominal entrance fee in the neighbourhood of $20 a ticket and invest that money wisely to ensure a memorable experience for all museum -goers. Despite the advantages of a private museum such as MoMA, I think making all museums free would encourage more people to appreciate art. A contrasting example with MoMA would be a museum just a few blocks away: The Metropolitan Museum of Art. The MET has educated and uplifted millions of citizens regardless of their socioeconomic status. The wealthy who can afford museum admission are likely to already have a deep appreciation of the arts as well as the leisure time to enjoy their practice. People, and children especially, from poorer backgrounds have fewer opportunities and free museums are the best way to support appreciation of the arts en masse. In conclusion, the benefits of free museum admissions, particularly for lower-income families, outweigh the benefits of charging. The bigger issue is how governments and other organisations can budget for free or relatively inexpensive museums.