Some people say that the best way to reduce the time that people spend travelling to work is to have large roads that go through the city centre. Others however, think that there are more effective ways to reduce the time people spend travelling to work. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Numerous people think, having highways which travel through the centre of the city is a proper solution to save time that otherwise could be wasted from travelling to work; on the other hand, few others say that there are better alternative ways to achieve this. Although there are alternatives like working from home which have some positive sides also, I think it will reduce traffic congestion by building bigger roads. To save time, working from home has become a trend recently because there are some other benefits. For example, a person who works from home can not only be more productive but also can enjoy time with his family also. Moreover, he can work long hours without considering the time to travel home. Despite the fact this can save time, I do not think this method can be implemented for all the occupations in a city because some may require more personal attention than others. As an example outdoor workers like engineers have to go out and see their sites often. Those on the other side of the argument say, building highways can save time. Although this can be expensive, it will definitely resolve traffic congestion which is a major time -consuming problem in most places. To illustrate, if bigger roads with proper entrances and exits were developed, employers could get to their work without having to wait in the rush hour. In addition, Colombo which is a major city in Sri Lanka used to be filled with traffic, but after the new highway system was implemented people are getting to their workplace on time. Thus I agree with this view. In conclusion, many employees state that developing new roads which lead through town is a better way than other alternatives. I agree with this statement because alternatives like working from home are not for everyone but developing highways not only could save time but also could be beneficial for many.