Space exploration is much too expensive and the money should be spent on more important things. To what extent do you agree with the suggestion?

A lot of the budget is being used up by distance exploration missions these days. I completely agree that the resources should be used on more relevant and useful things. Governments nowadays use a lot of funding to support area expeditions while more important public issues go unnoticed. More money and resources should be spent on solving problems which benefit the general public in their daily lives. It costs a lot more to train an astronaut than to train a doctor, a teacher, a firefighter or a policeman which actively benefits the public and the average citizen. Focusing more on basic public issues including public health issues, hygiene, safety and education should be of utmost importance and a major chunk of the budget should be allocated to these services. There have been various accidents in space missions where many astronauts have lost their lives like the Challenger space shuttle accident., Also many politicians use space programmes for their own political agendas and to show and enforce their political superiority over their rivals. I believe if the government shifts its priorities to helping average citizens first by providing basic facilities more readily available to them at their doorsteps rather than focusing more on exploring the skies, it will lead to a more healthy, happy and more robust society. In conclusion, I strongly agree that space spending should be drastically reduced as there are more urgent and relevant matters to be addressed.