In many countries , women are allowed to take maternity leave during the first month after the birth of new born. do you think the advantages of maternity leave outweigh the disadvantages?

After the birth of a child, the mothers are given the facility to take one month off from work in various parts of the world. Although this might have some downside in the short term, I strongly believe this upside is much greater in the long run. I think there are many advantages of maternity leave for the mother as well as the newborn. It has been found in various studies that the bond between the newborn and the mother initially plays a very important role in the physical and mental well-being of the child later in life. The same is true for the mother also. Giving birth is one of the most difficult work physically and mentally and the mother needs a lot of rest so that she can take good care of herself and her baby in the coming days to weeks. By having the joy of maternity leave, the mother not only can focus on recovering her own physical and mental health but also have ample time to develop the much-needed bond between her and the baby for a healthy life. There are some cons for taking a month off from work but the pros outweigh the downside. One of the downsides is that the mother might miss important opportunities the job might bring along those days for career progression or potential salary increment, Also the company for which the mother is working will lose an important hardworking employee for one month and someone else who might not be suitable for the job will have to fill in the slot. But these short-term cons are made insignificant with the positive long-term benefits the leave of absence might bring later. In conclusion, I believe that granting a month's leave to a mother to take care of the newborn child greatly outweighs the short-term downside.