Some parents think it is good to have mobile phones for their children, others disagree with it. Discuss both sides and give your opinion

There is an ongoing debate among caregivers on the impact of gadgets on children. While some consider it to be beneficial owing to its numerous benefits such as quick communication, the availability of knowledge at the touch of a button and early exposure to technology others condemn this practice as it encourages a sedentary lifestyle, under-development of soft skills and poses an increased risk to children in a myriad of problems. In my opinion, while there are some pros to this act the disadvantages outweigh them and hence this practice needs to be discouraged. The obvious benefit of giving a child a mobile phone is being able to communicate with the child to ensure safety. Also, owing to technology the location can also be traced in case of an emergency which is a huge relief for parents. Moreover, with the plethora of information, e-books and distance learning courses available on the internet it can be used to the advantage of the children who are given mobile phones. This early exposure to the world of machinery will play a crucial role in the understanding of how the world functions at a global level. On the other hand, the downside of introducing mobile phones is quite few and has long-lasting detrimental impacts on children especially when unsupervised. Firstly, the exponential increase in screen time promotes a sedentary lifestyle that results in multiple health issues such as obesity, diabetes and eye diseases. Secondly, children who have mobile phones to entertain them make no effort to socialise with their peers which results in zero development of soft skills that are crucial when one steps out into the real world in pursuit of jobs. Furthermore, children at a young age are gullible and can be trapped by strangers on the internet where the conversations and pictures shared can resurface years later to cause embarrassment. In conclusion, while giving mobile phones has its benefits the downside to it is rather scary and can cause damage that can not be undone. It will be an excellent display of a proactive approach if parents substitute mobile phones with books at an early age and introduce them to technology under their supervision in increments to reap the benefits while keeping the cons at bay.