Cases of bullying in school are increasing and worsening. What do you think are the causes of this? How can we tackle this issue?

Problems of harassment in school have been rising and exacerbating these days. Meanwhile, this is a serious issue, it can be dealt with by teaching students how to live with others harmoniously rather than competitively. First of all, the main reason for bullying is the competitive atmosphere in schools. Young people try to be superior to their classmates in order to get better test scores, which makes students feel jealous and discriminate against other peers. For instance, when I was in high school, a few friends were bullied just because they studied way too hard. This proves that excessive competition tends to cause bullies. Furthermore, today’s youngsters know the fact that they are not going to get punished as seriously as adults. Since they know they will not go to jail, they can easily and meanly harm other classmates mentally and physically. However, there are some solutions to this problem. Lessening high competition in schools is likely to decrease bullying cases. Rather than focusing on the study itself, encouraging the young to learn how to study and achieve goals together is more imperative. For example, my homeroom teacher asked students, who had better test scores than others, to help their friends who needed more effort when it comes to studying, and it did work. Through this experience, we learnt we could strive for one goal without competition. Also, there was no bullying as we became closer while studying. In conclusion, it is clear that bullying issues are getting more serious, they can be solved by teaching youngsters how they can be harmonized with others.