In many countries, there is a growing concern about the quality of education. What are the reasons behind this issue, and what measures can be taken to improve the education system?

Although Medicine is a field which has a myriad of branches with a lot of fascinating and impressive ways of studying it, one of the most awe-inspiring characteristics is, without a doubt, its well-balanced relationship among natural, formal and social sciences. This mixture leads to a wide spectrum of complex stumbling blocks which requires an appropriate combination of curiosity and multidisciplinarity to solve them. From a very early age, this aroused my interest and prompted me to study not only the structure of the human body and physiology but also the mechanisms of pathogenesis with the respective treatments. My Bachelor’s Degree in Medical Science (Medical Doctor, MD), which was studied at Universidad Militar Nueva Granada in Bogotá, Colombia, was a complete training in both clinical and research fields using analytical methods as well as evidence-based medicine techniques. The integration of these aspects along with acquiring the basic knowledge about natural sciences, such as cellular biology, biophysics, biochemistry, anatomy, histology, etc, showed me how perfect the functionality and homeostasis of human beings is, however, it still lacks information. Since then, Health Sciences have become a passion for me, showing a high-academic performance with award scholarships being granted due to ‘The Class of Honors Qualification’, and achieving the best GPA over 52 students in my class graduation. Over time and parallel to my academic duties, my career interests in the research field constantly increased. In the beginning, they were focused on Stem Cells and Bioethics, taking an elective course for three years related to these branches in which there were theoretical and practical immersive sessions. Hence, exploring deeper into the most specific literacy and research done from ancient times to the present day as well as learning cutting-edge techniques about cultures, analysis, and methodology, finally being part of the ‘BioGenEtica Research Group’ at the afore-mentioned University. After that, my experience broadened to other topics linked to microbiology and parasitology, researching mainly diseases caused by helminths and protozoa that affect children in Colombia. These projects have been presented at several not only national but also international symposiums and conferences as well as have been published in indexed journals.