It has been suggested that primary children should learn how to grow vegetables and keep animals. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In addition to studying the school’s main subjects, elementary children now nurtured gifted courses like swimming, chess, … Besides, some people give opinion that schools should encourage children to learn how to grow plants and take care of animals. In my perspective, the advantages of this approach outweigh the disadvantages. In order to start, if these are compulsory subjects, few students have to study without their own desires. This can have a negative effect with pupils’ learning results. Moreover, some primary students living in urban areas do not tend to plant vegetables or some living in apartments are not allowed to have pets. So for them, learning about raising plants and keeping animals will not be helpful. Finally, this course can add more stress to students. Primary kids already face a lot of pressure to do well on their examinations, so schools should not burden them more. However, there are several benefits of this teaching method. Students acquire more knowledge about plants and animals, which will be favorable for some subjects at school such as biology and science. Not only that, children can learn how to be responsible with something that they are taking care of. From there, it can create positive hobbies, instead of watching TV or using mobile phones all day. In summary, although teaching knowledge about taking care of animals and growing plants for elementary students may have some drawbacks, the advantages of this teaching method is undeniable.