“Government should spend money on railway rather than roads. To what extend do you agree or disagree?”

There is a debate on how a state should allocate funds to roads instead of railways. In my opinion, both modes of transportation should be considered by the executive authority when it comes to spending as each conveyance appeals to different masses and  has its respective benefits. To begin with, the advantage of spending on the railway is twofold. Firstly, railways are considered more economical in terms of travel hence when money is invested into it it aids the lower middle class in terms of comfort and ease. Also, railways provide a rare opportunity for tourists of sightseeing in the comforts of their seats when families and friends plan trips owing to its spacious cabins to avail a chance to bond and make precious memories. Secondly, railways are a great source of income for the government if timely investments are made. For instance, in India, the railway as an institution contributes significantly to its Gross domestic product. This can be a game changer for developing countries if holistic policies are devised and implemented. On the other hand, the importance of roads can not be undermined. It is the most common route used in any country for travel or transportation and requires due maintenance. Roads are primarily important because they are used by almost every citizen for everyday use from driving oneself to the office or dropping the kids off to daycare. Moreover, this adds to the emphasis government needs to put on the patrolling and maintenance of roads for security reasons. To conclude, the aforementioned entities of travel need their due care since one can not replace the other by any means. Hence, a smart strategy needs to be formulated by states to find a middle ground when it comes to investment and renovation.