To meet the growing need for food to support an increasing population, a country should make use of edible insects as a food source. However, some people believe that insects are not only unhealthy but harvesting them will also negatively affect nature. What are the benefits and drawbacks of eating insects?

The world population grow is creating worries about food demand and offer in the future. Therefore one option has been found out, and it is insects transformed to human food. However there are some opposition about it and this essay will discuss some positive and negative effects of this new choice of food over human health. Specialists say that there is not enough land to plant and produce food for the further growing population. And so, other sources of food are being sought in order to fulfill the increasing demand tendency. One of them was found in insects, for the protein and nutrients biologists say they have, especially on their crater. However there are some harmful reasons to discard this option as the only backward. Harms might concern not only to their potential to spread out sickness as disease vectors but also to the impact on natural feeding chain, as they have the duty to banish some parasites from the crops. As a balance, Have plantation be hindered by parasites food production would in sum be prejudiced. Therefore, the drawbacks far overweight the benefits. In conclusion, the risk on health and nature by eating insects does not worth it as a food complement to the lack of food in face of the increasing demand.