In some countries, secondary schools aim to provide a general education across a wide range of subjects, while in others, children focus on a narrow range of subjects related to particular careers. Which education systems is more appropriate for today's world?

As the different requirements of secondary school students shown up gradually, the education mode has been seperating into two main kinds: take wide range of subjects and focus particularly on careers. It is ture that the choice of two mode should follow student’s heart, in my opinion, foucsing on the careers is more appropriate for the modern world. Career-based teaching system can help students clear their path toward furture, experiencing their dream in advance. Most of the students have their own dream jobs, even tried to cosplay as an artiest or a scientist when they were young. Hence, secondary schools are suitable places for them to try what they want to be, by learning the related courses and doing some reality practice. Thus, it triggers a more reasonable careers path for young students: If the find they have no more interest in learing engineering, they can transfer to another major, untill they find what they truly want. Contrast with the general teaching system, most students would like to choose the major what they get the highest score when they enter the university and finding a work after graduation. Losing the opportunities for continuously tring, they are likely to make decisions about their life path in a hasty way. Furthermore, narrow range of subjects helps the students delect the useless and uninteresting course for themselves. Students are not necessarily need to performance well in every common subjects, like math and science. It is quite unfair to ask all the students learn math well, even for a student who want to be a poetry writer. Meanwhile, if the right for courses choosing can be given back to themselves, these unfair problems can be easily solved. I have to admit that some of the basic subjects can help student can help to shape personal values, however, it can be altered by the reality practice, help students to grow faster. In addition, the more fouced subjects help them learn in a greater depth and avoid being forced to dislike subkects. Hence, the career-based teaching system seems more appropriate for today’s world.