When choosing a job, the salary is the most important consideration. To what extant do you agree or disagree?

It is true that careful consideration should be given when the public is aiming to choose a satisfying position. Although salary can be a contributing factor, I would argue that some other elements are equally significant. It is undeniable that earnings are of great importance when finding a job so as to meet the basic needs of people’s daily lives. To be specific, most folks have to pay high mortgages and monthly utility fees, which means that only getting a relatively lucrative occupation can make ends meet and ensure their living standards. If people only think of enjoyment and some non-financial factors, they may find it hard to support their lives. For example, some artists, who exclusively devote themselves to painting based on their interests and never think of payment, do not have stable incomes and sometimes even suffer from financial problems. However, some other considerations are also of great importance. Firstly, the working atmosphere and the type of colleagues around are worth consideration as people can hardly reach their potential unless they fit in the workplace and get along well with their workmates. Secondly, most people’s feelings of job satisfaction come from the skills they learned, the experience they accumulated and the people they met rather than the stipend. Finally, if they do not consider whether they are interested in their jobs but directly start to work because of the remuneration, they will soon realize their jobs are monotonous and boring. As a result, they cannot come up with innovative ideas or become experts, which means they can hardly get promotions or pay rise and end with meagre wages. In conclusion, the size of the salary should indeed be one of the important factors in evaluating whether a career is worth choosing, but it is by no means more important than all the other motivators mentioned above.