People think that the best way to reduce crime to give longer prison sentences. Others believe that there are other alternative solutions for reducing crime. Discuss both views and give your own opinion on this topic.

It is often argued that longer prison sentences are the key to reducing crime rates whilst others disagree and think alternative solutions should be explored. While there are some benefits of lengthy prison sentences, I would argue that we have other ways to shrink crime levels. There are various compelling reasons why many people believe that the way to reduce crimes should be long prison terms, one of them is the prospect of spending an extended period behind bars can instil fear and discourage individuals from engaging in criminal activities. For example, in some countries, rape and murder crimes are often punished with a life imprisonment sentence; this punishment, it is considered a strong deterrent measure aimed at protecting the community and ensuring that people should think carefully before making serious crimes. Hence, by imposing a life sentence, those countries are hoping that a sufficient level of fear will be created to deter similar criminal acts in the future. On the other hand, I firmly hold the view that there are many alternative approaches to crime reduction such as focusing on education and improving economic opportunities which could solve those issues more effectively. Firstly, by providing support systems and investing in education to help raise awareness and knowledge, people could have more chances to seek better jobs, it is a beneficial solution to reduce incentives for criminal activities. For instance, in Sweden, education is provided free of charge at all levels; furthermore, the Swedish government places a strong emphasis on supporting citizens in employment possibilities, they give guidance, job matching services, and training programs to enhance individuals' employability. That is the reason why Sweden is at the top of countries where the crime rates are lowest. In conclusion, while longer prison sentences may act as a deterrent and protect society from potential offenders, I personally believe that other solutions are necessary to address the root causes of crime effectively