Some people argue that all experimentation on animals is bad and should be outlawed. However, others believe that important scientific discoveries can be made from animal experiments. Can experimentation on animals be justified? Are there any alternatives?

Animal testing is indeed a controversial topic. While part of the population advocates for animal rights and expects governments to take action against it, others are optimistic that significant findings may materialise from such investigations. In my opinion, such research has revolutionised today's medicine and therefore it shall be justified. However, recent scientific discoveries have revealed alternative testing subjects. In terms of justification, a significant amount of our community suffers from numerous chronic illnesses, such as hypertension and diabetes, that require them to take medications on a daily basis. Conversely, such pharmaceutical aids exist thanks to past experimentation on living species, other than humans. In fact, peoples' life span has increased substantially in the last few decades, merely due to those advancements in the health industry. For example, my mother suffers from hypertension since her 30s, but with lifestyle changes and her prescription, she enjoys life to the fullest every day. Despite these promising facts, solely experimenting on animals is not a sustainable solution. Hence why, researchers have now shed light on new experimental subjects, those of lower-living states, such as bacteria, fungi, and viruses. These subjects are now being utilised to produce proteins destined to help tackle common ailments. For instance, some vaccinations are based on immunogenic proteins purified from viral entities. In conclusion, improving the quality of life is a social responsibility and should not be limited by those who are against it because newer technologies are emerging and may potentially shift the dynamics of experimentation and hopefully even replace the need for living subjects.