Few people devote time to hobbies nowadays. Say why you think this is the case and what effect this has on the individual and society in general. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

Nowadays, we have a hectic lifestyle, with an alteration in work -life balance, which means dedicating most of our time to work and no time for hobbies. There are different causes of this issue and have positive and negative effects on the individual and society as a whole. In this essay, I am going to explain some of the causes and possible effects which they may have. The most important reason for it is that people dedicate almost all their time to work and do not have time for hobbies. This can be explained by the competitive job market, so people have to prioritise their time for career growth and stay updated on this industry in order to get a better-paid job. Therefore, using their time for career development people do not have time for leisure activities such as hobbies. In addition, people spend much time on social media, so the time they spend on social media they can not spend on hobbies. On the other hand, this situation can be positive for individuals. For example, improve efficiency and productivity at work. This is because the more time you devote to something the better are at it, and this also happens with jobs. Apart from positive effects there also are negative ones. For instance, burnout or stress occurs as a result of devoting too much time to work and little or no time to hobbies, which helps disconnect from stress related to work. In conclusion, due to the competitive job,market people have to prioritise work over hobbies. Despite the positive effects it has on work proficiency, the lack of time for hobbies leads to stress and burnout. I personally believe that there should be a balance between work and hobbies.