Light pollution (excessive light during night time) is a form of pollution, especially in modern cities. What problems does light pollution cause, and what solutions can you suggest for governments and businesses to take?

Coming along with urbanization and modernization, light pollution is a headache in today’s life. There are a variety of consequences of this, but steps can definitely be taken to tackle the problem. The issues that stem from this type of contamination are many. Firstly, lights emit heat which carries a carbon footprint into the air, and this is one of the reasons that cause global warming and greenhouse gas. Secondly, excessive illumination at night may change the living behaviours of nocturnal animals like bats and owls, and this, therefore, may lead to the extinction of many species. At the same time, many people have suffered from sleeping disorders or insomnia because lights hinder the human body from generating essential hormones for sleeping. Finally, lights consume a large sum of electricity which cannot be reproduced, and this is obviously a waste of natural resources. However, I do believe those problems can certainly be improved. Governments should have more propagation programs to raise awareness among the public because this type of pollution may be something new for many people. In addition, city councils have to inventory and control the number of illuminative devices on the roads and reduce them when necessary. Furthermore, they have to ensure that this equipment has to be turned off when not being used, as some metropolises keep the lights on even during the daytime. Manufacturers should convert to producing environmentally friendly items like using recycle energy bulbs or energy-saving ones. In conclusion, the problem of illumination pollution will continuously become worse unless governments work well on propagation, control the use habits and businesses advance lighting products.