Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some people feel that advertising effectively influences consumers’ buying decisions. In contrast, others claim that it is so commonplace and, as a result, cannot draw people’s attention anymore. Although social media has made advertising more common than ever before, I think it is still compelling because it creates the desire for the products it is selling. On the one hand, nowadays, industries are using a plethora of marketing strategies such as captivating packaging designs, coupons, hefty discounts and other alluring offers to attract customers and amplify their sales. Moreover, not only do some companies reach their target audience with the help of sophisticated technological advancements such as email newsletters and online promotions but they also increase their customer count. For instance, according to a survey conducted by the Times of India, there was a massive rise in online sales in the past five years with a considerable change in the advertising strategies used to charm consumers. Hence, it is discernible that although there are reforms in the advertising approaches, they still have an indispensable job to play in persuading people. On the other hand, as most people are aware of the traps of these advertisements, they are now avoided. Online advertising is an excellent example of this. Potential customers scarcely click on or even glance at a website’s combination of pop-up ads, banners, spam or promotional mailing list requests, and auto-playing video advertisements. These have become so frequent that consumers have evolved the unconscious practice of skipping ads on YouTube, swiftly closing pop-ups and scrolling past in-page advertisements. Advertisers have struggled to counter this by making their marketing less conspicuous, like ads that resemble actual posts on social media sites like Instagram. Still, their sheer frequency means they can quickly identify and do not stand out. In conclusion, in my opinion, in some ways, giant advertisements have achieved their objective of persuading demand amongst consumers, to the extent that we tend to buy and possess multiple products. Regardless, to a smaller extent, we do not pay attention to some advertising on various media channels.