In some countries, owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people. Why might this be the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative situation?

There is no doubt that many people prefer to buy their own home instead of renting one in recent times. In this essay, I will explain the reason behind this preference and why I believe this represents a negative development. Firstly, the most difficult aspect of renting a house is the relationship with landlords, so people think that owning their place is the best option to give them freedom. This is because, when someone rents a house, all changes in the decorations and furniture must be approved by the owner, who may not agree with the ideas. For example, even when something should be fixed or modernized in the house, the landlord must be aware of it. As a result, these situations may raise many arguments with landlords, which people try to avoid buying their houses. On the other hand, owning a home is not always a positive development because it can also be dramatically expensive, especially in large cities. Due to the lack of available houses to cover the demand of residents in such places, the prices have recently been rising. For instance, many people have to work long hours and take on extra shifts to cover their housing expenses and sometimes a mortgage is still needed. As a result, the risk of creating a significant debt is high, which may last for over 30 years sometimes. To sum up, buying a home can be an excellent idea for those who look for freedom, but it can also represent a negative development when people don’t have enough money to cover housing expenses.