Some feel that it is impossible for a country to be economically progressive and environmentally friendly at the same time. Others disagree with this view. Discuss both points of view and give your opinion.

People have debatable views about the impacts of economic development on the environment. Some argue that it is impossible for a country to grow economically without damaging its surroundings, I, along with others believe the environment can be protected while carrying out several developmental activities for a nation. This essay will explore both views on this matter. Over the past few decades, the world has erected many multi-storied buildings to provide for the needs of educational institutions, shopping malls, industries etc. These developments have been made at the price of deforestation. This leads to the belief that every economically progressive step is only going to destroy our surroundings. Because of this, people usually question any step taken for the economic growth of a country. Conversely, people nowadays are more worried about protecting nature than ever before. This concern is giving rise to creative and innovative ideas in many scientific fields. Battery vehicles, for example, have gained immense popularity and acceptance in the automobile sector. People are making conscious decisions of shifting to battery vehicles to preserve fuel. There have been many other environment-friendly innovations such as CNG gas, solar power etc. This displays a careful mindset of people who want to work towards a country's development and at the same time, preserve its nature and landscape. History might scare many of us to believe that economic progression can only have damaging implications for our surroundings. However, I strongly disagree with this as things have changed for good in recent years. To conclude, today, many environmentally friendly substitutes have been invented to cater to the needs of a country's growth and its financial development, ensuring no harm to nature.