In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

In some parts of the world, offspring are taught that every goal is achievable if they make a lot of effort. This essay will look at the advantages and disadvantages of this message. On the positive side, there are two reasons why encouraging youngsters to try their best is beneficial. Firstly, this message can motivate them. To illustrate, learning a second language is a daunting process, which requires a lot of hard work and determination. If children are advised that diligence, not innate talents, accounts for the largest proportion of their success, they will be eager to learn and make it to the top. Secondly, teaching offspring to work hard enables them to overcome hardships. Primary guardians can read stories about those who surmount difficulties such as Nick Vujicic to children. This will therefore develop a positive mentality and improve their resilience, all of which are important for their adult life. On the negative side, persuading children to endeavour has some implicit drawbacks. To begin with, this method can result in delusion. It may mislead children into spending time doing something in which hard work plays little role. For example, a person needs to have a good foundation in music and a beautiful voice, which sometimes is a gift and not for everyone, to be a professional singer. With that being said, a lot of practice doesn’t guarantee success in this case. In addition, children might suffer from frustration. When they fail to achieve their goals, they will start to blame themselves because they don’t know that success also goes with luck and other factors. In conclusion, encouraging young children to attempt to obtain their goals gives them motivation and the ability to break their limits. However, this method also comes with a false assumption and stress for youngsters.