It is suggested that primary school children should learn how to grow vegetables and keep animals. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In modern life, there are few opportunities for children to grow vegetables and keep animals, so this has been suggested to be taught to elementary school children. Despite some drawbacks that cannot be denied, its benefits far outweigh them. Teaching the primary children to plant vegetables is one of the ways to form their love of nature and responsibility. When children take part in activities from sowing the seeds and watering to following the gradual development process, they understand the value of labor power and what nature gives, thus enhancing their awareness’s environmental protection and stopping waste food. Furthermore, growing vegetable is a process requiring children ’s patience and vegetables will die when losing people’s care. So, children will feel a strong sense of responsibility for their actions. However, some vegetables contain harmful substances which primary children often have not had enough consciousness to separate, so parents or older people should supervise and guide them. Besides, growing vegetables occupy quite a bit of space, particularly in urban areas, thus a scientific arrangement is necessary. Several same effects have been found to be true with keeping animals. Children that have pets are generally happier and healthier. For example, when children have a low score or any unhappiness story that they can not share with anyone, they may comfortably confide in their pets. This helps children feel less lonely and have fun again. Or walking with animals in the park instead of spending time on technology devices helps children develop both physical and mental health. Moreover, children may learn self-control character through care and raising animals. For instance, when children get a dog, they will make rules for pets about where they can sleep, eat, and so on. This is an opportunity for children to train themselves to have conscious life. But note that if keeping animals, they should have a separate living area, and regularly be cleaned and vaccinated because parasites on animals may easily cause diseases for children who directly feed or play with them. Additionally, should not let children play with animals without their parents’ supervision as children may be injured by animals ’ unexpected attacks.