Some people say that it is acceptable to test medicine intended for people on animals. Others, however, believe that it is not right to use animals in this research. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, the increasing number of testing on animals in medical research can be found throughout the world. In that case, some people believe that it is brutal to test on animals. From my perspective, I strongly agree with this viewpoint as animals are not born for humans’ benefit and they do not have any obligation to die for human beings. It is claimed that despite using animals in medical research being brutal, it should be continued if it can save a huge number of people’s lives. It is sure that those who are asking for animal rights will change their views if one of their family members suffers from a certain disease and have to apply some medicines tested with animals. In addition, if medical companies distribute unsafe drugs, it could give serious consequences for them. For example, if their medical products have side effects, they can be sued and the company can get a bad image until it cannot continue the business. Therefore, it is safe for people to test with animals before distributing them to the market. A huge number of animals such as rats and rabbits dying while discovering medicine is an unacceptable case since animals should have rights. In order to be tested for medicine, they had to suffer from illness first which is very severe from them. Moreover, if the medicine had some serious side effects, they could die instantly or become disabled throughout their life. Hence, it is unfair for them to be born for humans and die for them as well. Although they cannot claim their rights, we should not bully them for our privilege. Therefore, scientists should discover new technology or ways to test medicine rather than killing flawless animals. In conclusion, while I accept that animal testing for medical purposes can bring lots of benefits to humans, I would argue that animals have no obligation to die for us. Since they are also living creatures, they also feel hurt to suffer illness in order to be tested.