Human activity has had a negative impact on plants and animals around the world. Some people think that this cannot be changed, while others believe actions can ben taken to bring about a change. Discuss both and give your opinion.

Over the past 500 years, more than 800 species of fauna and more than 1,000 species of flora died out. The number of different plants and animals has been diminishing because of the negative impact of human activity on the planet. It is a well-known fact, but people do very little to reverse this disastrous trend. In this essay, I describe a few possible ways to prevent the destruction of wild nature and try to draw some conclusions. First of all, it is necessary to stop killing and catching animals, rare species of fish and birds as well as annihilation of various kinds of plants. The governments of all countries have to implement the severe restriction law against poaching. The punishment for this crime must be very strict and inevitable. Moreover, nature protection agencies should be given wide authority and modern facilities to combat illegal hunting, fishing and other offences. Secondly, it is vitality required to decrease pollution. Switching to new types of energy and changing waste recycling methods will help reduce the level of carbon dioxide in the atmosphere and prevent the contamination of many rivers and seas. Pristine environments such as Antarctica must be protected from development and damage so that at least these habitats are preserved. Besides, humanity has to find a solution to defend tropical rainforests from ruthless cutting. All these steps allow us to slow down global warming as well. Thirdly, population growth exerts severe pressure on finite resources, and the ecological balance may be upset by uncontrolled deforestation, construction and agricultural production. The solution to this problem might lie in the new methods of growing and processing food. Along with this, it is necessary to find a way to fairly redistribute natural resources between countries. In conclusion, today the responsibility for the safety of animals and plants lies with each of us. Economic and social measures such as pollution reduction and rational use of natural resources will help to stop the negative trend of the disappearance of many species of flora and fauna.