Nowadays, more and more people are moving from the countryside to cities, which are becoming overcrowded. What are the reasons for this movement to cities and what are the effects?

These days, more people tend to migrate from rural areas to the cities. This trend causes some cities to become overpopulated. It is obvious that there are root causes behind this phenomenon and the continuation of this trend may have a great impact on city dweller's life. There are two main reasons why individuals migrate to urban areas. Firstly, there are more job opportunities in cities. That is because the majority of big companies and factories are located in cities, and many people move to cities to find a job with decent salaries. If these people find a job in one of these companies, they will stay in cities permanently. Secondly, most cities are facilitated with basic amenities. In other words, since most of the government's budget is allocated to urban areas, the people living in the countryside do not have access to basic amenities. Take recreational facilities, which is an important factor for the young's happiness for example; it can be impossible to find a cinema or theatre in the countryside. This persuades young individuals to move to cities. It is evident that this trend will bring consequences. One of the most important effects is concerned with the environment. The more people move to cities, the more polluted cities are bound to be. An increase in city dwellers means that there would be more carbon dioxide emissions and more waste produced by households. This may result in a decrease in air quality and soil contamination. Furthermore, this trend may cause economic difficulties. It is more probable the price of accommodation will rise sharply as a result of people migrating to the cities. This may cause managing the family budget becomes an impossible mission for many citizens. To sum up, considering the point discussed above, there are some causative factors behind this social event. As a result of migration to cities, the life of people living in cities will change drastically, so it is the government's obligation to facilitate the rural area so that individuals do not have enough incentive to migrate to the cities.