In many countries, people now wear western clothes (suits, jeans) rather than the traditional clothing. Why? (Reasons and relevant examples) Is this a positive or negative development?

In today's modernised world, there's a pressure of being wisely dressed everywhere. Western attire has been globally recognised and is considered the most suitable in every setup. Consequently, traditional dresses are losing their identity every day. Also, due to globalization where people can trade in many different nations or countries, western suits or suits have been glorified as global dresses. However, in my,eyes the trend of wearing Western dresses is justifiable and understandable. To begin with, most of the corporate world, where people from divergent nations deal, have their own dress code to follow which usually includes Western dresses rather than being in traditional attire. Moreover, in an industry there can be people from different communities who can have their own cultural costumes which don' t look good at a point in time. Apart from formal setup, in day-to-day life too it can sometimes create awkward moments for one in traditional attire especially when they are in another state or a country where those outfits aren' t easily available. However, finding Western attire is much more convenient. To illustrate, if a lady from Punjab in India visits the United States, it can become difficult for her to find scarves for her traditional Punjabi suits. On the other hand, as Western outfits are available internationally, US women can' t find it difficult to buy a pair of jeans or a top from Punjab if they travel to India. At last, being in a cultural outfit can require a number of accessories being worn together which can' t be easily available everywhere we travel as locals are not aware of those things. So you have no other option left to be in the Western suit. To conclude, I can reaffirm that being adjusted to Western clothing has more positive development on a society as a whole. It is represented as a single nation. Though, we shouldn' t forget our culture and should be connected to cultural apparel when there's a family function or party.