Traffic jams are a problem in many towns and cities today. Some people say that the solution is to build wider roads. Do you agree or disagree?

In recent times, traffic congestion has become a major problem in many cities and towns around the world. Some suggest widening up the roads could be the possible solution to address the issue. I strongly agree with this suggestion and this essay will examine the reasons why it cannot be a possible solution. To begin with, in most cities, widening the roads is not possible because of its infrastructure and it is quite a tedious process. For instance, the narrow roads in a developed city have high-rise buildings on both sides, to expand the roads, the buildings have to be demolished. Furthermore, broader roads do reduce congestion but do not have a significant effect as the problem is caused due to the number of vehicles. Thus, it is better to consider other feasible solutions to reduce the traffic. On the other hand, imposing higher taxes on private vehicles like cars can be implemented by the government. This gives an opportunity for the buyers to reconsider their decisions. For example, in Singapore, the government charges higher carbon emission taxes around 40,000$ when purchasing a car. Other methods like concessions for people travelling before peak hours and for people using public transportation. This could reduce the congestion during peak hours. To summarize, the expansion of roads is one of the possible solutions to tackle congestion but practically, it is not feasible and lesser effect on congestion compared to other means. Laws governing road and traffic could be modified to resolve the issue effectively.