In some countries, more and more people are becoming interested in finding out about the history of the house or building they live in.

With an increasing population throughout the world place, the demand for places of living has also increased. This demand and change have created a lot of rising interest in people about the history of their houses or buildings. Therefore, the reasons for this trend and possible methods of research are outlined below. The reasons for the increasing urge to find out about the past of the place of living is primarily due to the global phenomenon of urbanisation, which has changed the industry such that the planning of cities changed significantly in recent years. Technological evolution has a great impact on this, making us curious about the past and how our dwellings have adapted over time. Another reason is human nature and the value society finds in understanding their own past, as our homes can be deeply personal and intertwined with our own identities. Discovering the history of our houses can provide a deeper connection and a sense of belonging to the place we call home. Considering the research methods, online databases, and contacts with neighbours or previous residents of the neighbourhood could create an understanding of the previous states of the surrounding landscape. For example, there are already a lot of relevant groups and communities where people share their stories, experience and information about their places of living. People are free to ask questions, publish new stories and give some tips for upcoming dwellers, which can ease the process of getting used to the surroundings. However, some places could be deeply isolated before the effect of urbanisation, which significantly complicates the ability to research and gain information. In that case, it is possible to be informed by the locals, but it still will be limited in the extent of the rumours. To conclude, the effect of urbanisation has influenced industry and landscapes, which are steadily being transformed to reach the needs of technological evolution. But the same technological evolution has also had a great impact on the history and methods of research, creating more opportunities to be deeply connected to our homes.