These days, in many countries, fewer and fewer people want to become teachers, particularly in secondary schools.

A generation ago, teaching in a high school is such a well-respected and popular job and in some countries, this is still true whereas nowadays, in many parts of the world, there has been a sharp drop in the number of young people who want to be a high school teacher. This essay will look at the reason for this and purpose some solutions. One of the main causes of this problem is that the salary of a teacher is much lower than many other jobs. The income comes from teaching is less amount of money when it comes to compared to another professional jobs such as doctor, engineer and IT developer. For instance, in Myanmar, the amount of monthly income of a doctor who has five experiences in his respective field is tripled than a teacher who has the same experiences. To tackle this issue, the government should raise the salaries significantly, which attract people to consider this job as a profession. Another problem is that children do not behave well in class. That is to say, teachers have to deal with pupils who disobey them which lead to give up easily and make them run out of their energies for nurturing playful student the whole day. Dealing with this issue, parents have the most responsibility to teach their child to act politely and have respect for their teachers, in order to make children to behave well in class. To sum up, teaching has become a less popular job in recent days for some reasons like the low salaries and pupils’ behavior. This is a serious problem, unless we get young talented people to become a teacher, the academic future of our next generation will be damaged. My view is that the main responsibility for solving this problem lies with parents and the government.