Nowadays, as a part of education process, students work at a company for a short period of time without pay. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true that these days, students have to take unpaid positions in companies for some time, as this is a part of their curriculum. In this essay, I will explain why the benefits of this phenomenon eclipse its drawbacks. Admittedly, this trend has its negative sides. Firstly, without salaries, young people do not have enough motivation. As a result of performing many responsibilities, they will start feeling tired after some time, which will leads to situations where they will lose interest in their work without any encouragement. In addition, for some of the students, it might be too expensive. Some of them have to commute to a different city, which makes them spend large sums on public transportation. For example, in order to get from A to B, they sometimes have to spend all their monthly savings during just one week and, as a consequence, they will not be able to cover their basic daily needs for the following three weeks of the month. However, I take the view that the advantages of such temporary work clearly overshadow its disadvantages. To begin with, a new experience in a company is very valuable for their future career. While being a part of a team, they will have an opportunity to develop their practical skills, which is part and parcel of becoming professional workers. Take doctors, for instance, who have to work in hospitals for free, which enables them to treat patients in the future. Furthermore, students might get their first paid job in such companies. If they perform their responsibilities thoroughly and work hard, employers might offer them a good position. Hence, they will start their part -time jobs, earning their first money. In conclusion, I am convinced that the benefits of the fact that students have to work in companies for free for a particular period of time, which is a part of their educational program, outweigh its drawbacks.