Some people believe that it is the responsibility of individuals to take care of their own health and diet. Others, however, believe that governments should make sure that their citizens have a healthy diet. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

While many people think that it’s the responsibility of each individual to take care of their own health, Others believe in governmental regulations about citizens' diet. I agree more with the former. Is being thoughtful about your health and diet enough to live longer? That is a question individuals may ask their governments. Since one of the main obstacles in the way of food companies making healthier food is law legislation, people consider governments to have a powerful role in the community’s health and diet. Governments can ban unhealthy products from their agricultural roots, so that, bad products wouldn’t be able to reach people’s markets. On the other hand, laws only limit food companies and it is people’s responsibility to consider the nutrition and health of their own meals. Even though governments restrict food producers, people’s healthy diet is of their own making. It is nearly impossible to limit people on how they eat or live and it’s known that if you limit and restrict people from doing something, their urge to do it will increase rapidly. Governments should help people by advertising healthy diets, so that, they could change people’s culture and norms. Provided that, I think governments should go along with people to help them make a healthier community. Since governments are part of people’s communities, they should make ways that people would access finer goods and healthier materials. Overall, I think governments have a strong ability to change people’s lives but it couldn’t be possible if people wouldn’t want to change.