Cycling is a healthier and more environmentally friendly means of transport. Nevertheless, cycling is getting less popular. What are the reasons of this trend? What can be done to make cycling more popular?

Cycling is a type of transportation that is more healthy and more beneficial to the environment but remains uncommon. I believe that when people used a bicycle they get tired easily and bikes are not capable of transporting big families from one place to another. There are reasons why cycling remains unpopular in our time. For instance, people that are travelling or commuting do not want to get tired. They want to conserve their energies because their jobs could easily exhaust their physical and mental well-being. They could also use the extra time for sleeping especially when they only have a small amount of sleep but have to attend to their work the next day. Families that are big, prefer cars to cycling because sometimes they are travelling or moving from one place to another. For example, many families in the USA are travelling on their RVs, which is popular among Americans who are exploring their country. These RVs also serve as their home containing a kitchen, bedrooms, and other basic needs. Many countries have advocated the use of cycling. For example, the Dutch government have successfully turned Amsterdam to become the cycling capital of the world. They have developed their roads and created parking lots for bike users across the city. Although there are still people who used their cars, almost half of the population in the city are using bicycles as their major means of transportation. Other European cities that have problems with traffic congestion and pollution began following the techniques and rules that the Dutch government implemented in Amsterdam. In conclusion, cycling is exhausting for many people and huge families that are travelling needed a bigger transportation vehicle however, cycling could be popular if the government can encourage people to use their bikes in order to become healthy and environmentally conscious.