Some people argue that only talented children can become successful musicians or athletes in the future. Others believe that children can be taught to succeed in music or sports. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is understandable that many people do not attribute the success of renowned athletes or musicians to hard work, because these successful people may have some special talents. In my view, natural gift is only one of the determinants of achievement. Some people believe that talent is what decides a person's level of attainment, and they can draw upon adequate evidence to support their view: many young children, who are still feeble in the body, can score a perfect goal on the soccer field; there are also children who can play melodious pieces of classical music on the piano when that cannot even walk on their own. By contrast, the performances of some adults who have received years of professional training seem to diminish compared to that of a prodigy. However, opponents argue that acquired musical or athletic skills also contribute to expertise. Through systematic training, children who used to have no knowledge offer the instrument or sport they are learning can establish a firm grounding by interacting with tutors, correcting errors in their performance and practising under supervision. These efforts can improve their level of attainment and exercise their potential. My opinion is that hard work is the key to success, although inborn talents can act as a shortcut. Because even if a young genius shows sparks of mastery, he or she will not be able to exploit this competence unless he or she receives formal training. Conversely, someone who has no talent but improves his or her skills through repetitive practice can have a stronger grasp of his or her profession, since he or she is more familiar with the basis of this profession. To conclude, accomplishment is not strictly determined by natural talent. Instead, it can be achieved through hard work.