Question : Nowadays many people complain that they have difficulties getting enough sleep. •What problems can lack of sleep cause? •What can be done about lack of sleep?

Insufficient rest duration and lack of quality sleep are prevalent complaints made by many people, especially working professionals. The following essay will scrutinize the adverse implications of this condition and propose suggestions in order to mitigate them. Sleep deprivation can give rise to a number of critical health complications including: daytime fatigue and lack of concentration. It is widely accepted that quality nighttime sleep is not necessarily achieved by a simple 8-hour per day sleep duration, and it is, in fact, a result of achieving the REM (Rapid Eye Movement) stage during the rest period. Many people, however, fail to pay proper attention to sleep hygiene practices; in spite of sleeping for adequately long periods, they fail to experience quality sleep, which, in turn, results in daytime fatigue and lack of concentration. Not feeling properly rested, subjects suffering from disturbed sleep patterns can maintain focus on neither their professional responsibilities nor daily chores; consequently, they face setbacks and failures and may struggle with depression and other mental health issues. In addition, lack of proper sleep can also contribute to more severe health-related issues, such as lower cardiovascular stamina. There are many possible solutions, depending on the root cause of the issue. If a patient is suffering from a major issue, for instance, sleep apnea and insomnia, they should most certainly seek professional help and medical treatments. On the other hand, issues arising from bad personal habits, including using smartphones prior to sleep, unhealthy diets, and not maintaining proper work-life balance can, indeed, be mitigated by measures such as meditation and mindfulness or a low-fat, high-fibre, vegetable-based diet. In conclusion, sleep deprivation is a serious medical condition with major implications that is not to be ignored. There are a variety of solutions, ranging from simple relaxation practices to drugs and more drastic medical procedures, which can effectively improve the conditions of those who would, otherwise, suffer from these distressing conditions.