TASK 2 (Academic and General Training) You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Friendships can be very meaningful and special, but also very complicated. What are the qualities of a great friend? What are some things that can weaken a close relationship over time? Write at least 250 words.

For their relationship to be meaningful, friends need a strong and lasting connection. This can usually be achieved through a common history and durable mutual support. However, the challenges of life often make it difficult for individuals to keep in touch. Friendships often appear when 2 people or more share the same interest. However, having a common enemy is sometimes a good starting point too. In any case, having something strong in common is obviously a necessary quality of good friends. For example, sharing a passion for one sport, having similar hobbies or attending university together can be the backbone of a great connection. Not having such a link can also weaken a friendship. When conflicts appear, it is always good to be able to come back to a common ground. Good friends are obviously reliable too. We all need to feel safe about the fact that our friends will be here for us when we need them. This could even be summarized in two simple questions: when one feels sad, stressed or depressed, who is he or she calling? Then, will that person answer the call? However, even our most special friends might be busy. He or she might be dealing with his or her own trouble as well. If it happens too often that a friend can't be present and intentional to help, the friendship will suffer. In conclusion, it is clear that friendship is all about emotional connection and mutual support. While the complexity of life and the effect of time can negatively affect relationships, friends who are always here for each other will certainly enjoy a durable connection.