Some people think that one of the best ways to solve environment problems is to increase the cost of fuel for cars and vehicles. Do you agree or disagree?

In the contemporary era, our environment is degrading day in and day out due to an increase in the amount of air pollution. It is often argued whether increasing the cost of fuel for vehicles is the best possible solution, while some opine that there are better ways to resolve the issue. I completely disagree with the latter, and this essay will elucidate my assertions in the forthcoming paragraphs. Nowadays, people use vehicles for various reasons. Increasing the cost of fuels could lead to not only a reduction in the use of personal cars but also will increase the value of transportation of consumer items. For instance, trucks carrying customer goods will be affected if the petrol cost is high. As a result, this cost will be transferred to the end user, and the value of goods and services will scale up tremendously. Therefore, in order to curb the ever-increasing air pollution, a hike in diesel and petrol prices will do no good to society at large. By contrast, in case the public commute is improved and made faster, people will be encouraged to use them frequently. Moreover, the government authorities can motivate personnel in order to buy electric vehicles by spreading awareness via campaigns and providing subsidies or tax exemptions for car loans. For example, in Mumbai, because of the recent metro lines, which are air-conditioned and provide better connectivity, a considerable number of citizens have stopped using their own transportation and are travelling by themselves. Thus, there are better ways which can be actioned if we want to save the environment. Definitely, it is the need of the hour to look after the deteriorating environmental conditions otherwise, it can lead to devastating effects. Having said that, a potential hike in the fuel cost might push some personnel to avoid using personal cars, but this action will also have side effects on society. Hence, it is not one of the best solutions to resolve the problem. So, a better way would be to promote the electric versions and optimise public transportation.