The use of personal cars has increased more than ever before but this use of cars causes many problems. What are those problems? To reduce these problems, should we discourage people to use cars? Give reasons for your answers and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge.

In this contemporary era, most societies own their personal cars because it will assist people's accommodation easier and more comfortable. They prefer to utilize their own cars instead of using public transport. Nevertheless, the increasing number of societies who own their personal cars will lead to several problems, especially in our environment. Therefore, I believe that we should motivate people to reduce the usage of cars. To commence, the rising number of four-wheelers on the road will detrimental to our environment such as impacting air condition and led several diseases. It is evident that cars release carbon dioxide and other toxic gasses from the burning of the engine into the atmosphere. These toxic gasses will impact the air quality to become worst, for example in Jakarta the air condition is below standard from the WMO since many vehicles operate on the street. In addition, this situation will lead to several diseases such as ISPA or bronchitis. This situation can happen since the community breathe unhealthy air, which will impact their health. In Indonesia, the population of society who suffer from bronchitis and ISPA has increased over the year. Based on the mentioned effect, the government should take action in order to tackle this problem such as increasing the cost of petrol and providing convenient public transportation. By increasing the cost of petrol, societies will think twice to utilize their own personal cars. It is undeniable that this action will be beneficial to reduce the number of used cars on the street. Other than that, the authority should provide better facilities in public transportation like establishing awesome stations or presenting comfortable seating, thus, it can attract people to use this public transportation. For instance, in South Korea most of the bus or train stations have a billboard that shows a short movie or music, accordingly, most people there feel convenience using public transportation. To put it in a nutshell, there are many demerits of using personal four-wheelers on the road, especially in air quality. Hence, the authority should encourage society to use public transportation as an alternative way to maintain the healthier of our environment.