In today's competitive world, many families find it necessary for both parents to go out to work. While some say the children in these families benefit from the additional income, others feel they lack support because of their parents' absence. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays people live in a very competitive world and the rhythms of modern life dictate their own rules. As work - life boundaries become more and more blurred, negative changes emerge, impacting not only lifestyle as a whole but in particular parent-child relationships. However, the global financial crisis has been pushing people to look for extra work to maintain their family's financial stability. It is not a secret that the structure of a modern family is not the same as it was a century ago. The societal status of women has changed. In the past, women used to occupy a rather low position in the family with no rights or freedom. For centuries raising children has been thought of as “ women ’s work ”, women took full responsibility for childbirth, childcare and domestic work. The situation has changed after the rise of the women ’s empowerment movement. Thus, the economic independence of women became the main feature of the modern family. Nowadays both parents leave the home for work to build their careers. But it does not change the fact that children need parents to be involved in their lives, they need care and love. Parent’s employment and lack of communication with their children have a detrimental impact on children ’s life. Self-discipline and emotional development are stunned without parental guidance and involvement because parents act as role models for their children. Without parental control, their child may eventually join peer groups with low moral and social standards (to seek those role models elsewhere). However, parents are driven not only by careerism or personal ambition. The desire to earn more money to make their child’s life less challenging makes parents work harder. This enables them to provide better education, and better health care services to their child. Modern children have everything they want, such as different clubs and sports sections. Working parents could provide children with expensive toys, clothes, trips, and gadgets. Moreover, when both parents are enough busy at work, the risk of development of an overprotection syndrome is much lower, and a child grows up to become an independent and mature person. In conclusion, I would like to say that it is hard to keep a traditional family structure nowadays. Life is changing and it is very important to maintain a healthy life - work balance. Working parents have fewer opportunities to look after their children, but they need to meet their children's mental and emotional needs. At the same time, it’s essential to earn enough money to provide financial resources for the future of the family's younger generation.