Some people think that it is a waste of time for high school students to study literature, such as novels and poems. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Whether the literature subjects should be removed from high schools or not is a debatable question. In fact, people have contrasting views on this. While proponents argue that it is a waste of time, others think the opposite. Although I agree that we should not force people into studying literature, it should be included in the curriculum as some people might enjoy it. On one hand, some people believe that studying literature is just a bad utilization of time. Instead, this time should be used to focus on already existing subjects. For example, one of my friends, who wanted to become a computer engineer, considered English a waste of time because he already had too many subjects to prepare for. However, he did enjoy reading novels in his spare time. On the other hand, many would argue that it is very much needed. Reading novels and poems relaxes our minds. Therefore, it is not a waste of time. A fresh mind can help a student study other subjects as well. A survey has found that in India, students who like literature have a creative mind and are more likely to become successful. Not only this, students can also make a career out of this by becoming a poet, writer or even editor. In conclusion, whether we should remove the literature subjects in high school should be considered seriously. While proponents of such an argument would say that this time should be focused on other subjects, others claim it not only helps to relax our mind but also the students can make a career out of this. In my opinion, although I acknowledge that students need time to prepare for other subjects, the literature should not be removed as it may prove helpful for some stud