In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centres or malls to do their shopping. Is this positive or negative development?

The impact of big shopping complexes on people and the economy of the country has been a topic of heated debate in the cutting-edge era. While it is undeniable that these places have made shopping convenient for customers, it cannot be ignored that only because of them, the local market struggles to operate. In my opinion, this prevailing trend has both fruitful and detrimental aspects that will be scrutinized in the forthcoming paragraphs. To begin with, there is no scepticism in the fact that the emergence of shopping centres has transformed the earlier arduous shopping experience into a pleasant and exciting one as everything required by purchasers is available under one roof. Additionally, they also contribute to the national economy by creating jobs like housekeepers, managers and salespersons. To illustrate, in an online survey at the national level, it was observed that approximately 15% of the working-class population of the nation works in malls. Thus, this clearly illuminates their imperative role in the economic system of the country. On the other hand, the significance of the survival of the local market in the lives of small shop owners is irrefutable as it is their only means of earning and sustenance in today's competitive era. The changing preference of consumers for big malls will lead to the extinction of local markets which will eventually shove local vendors into a debt trap. Moreover, there are various regional markets, which sell products of historical importance. So, due to the ongoing scenario, these markets have also sustained great losses because of which their existence in future is doubtful. To exemplify, in another research, it was found that 30 traditional markets have ceased to exist so far due to lower numbers of customers. To recapitulate, it is substantially evident that the effects of huge shopping centres and malls are deleterious as well as beneficial in their respective areas. Even though they increase the GDP(Gross Domestic Product) and make shopping a piece of cake, their insurmountable impact on conventional markets is unassailable. Hence, I consider it a negative development.