All fathers should be entitled to time-off from work when their children are born. What is your opinion?

Today, the role of fathers as care-givers within the family has received increasing attention from policy and research in the last decade. More and more fathers apply for parental leave so that they can spend more time with their child in the first years of baby’s life. In my opinion, this is an essential concept and I strongly agree with this viewpoint. To begin with, there are some main reasons why paternity leave is a vital necessity for dads. Firstly, taking time off around the birth of child not only leads parents to taking a greater role in caring for their children, but also emotional bonds and attachments would be developed in families. Furthermore, it also allows fathers to take a more active role in childcare, something which is becoming increasingly important in modern society. For example, fathers can spend quality time holding, cuddling, feeding, and putting the baby to sleep, allowing mothers to rest and recover from childbirth. Hence, fathers need to attend the childbirth, take paternity leave and participate in the process of childcare for these bonds to be formed. Moreover, providing paternity leave sends a message to employees that their employer values work-life balance and family commitments. This can lead to greater employee satisfaction, loyalty, and productivity. In other words, when employees feel supported in their personal lives, they are more likely to feel satisfied with their jobs. For illustration, a study revealed that organizations with paternity leave policies also witnessed higher rates of employee loyalty. Consequently, this leads to increased job satisfaction and a positive perception of the employer. In conclusion, paternity leave not only plays a crucial role in empowering fathers to be actively involved in the upbringing of their children during the first years of their baby's life, but also creates a positive workplace culture that benefits both employees and the organization as well.