Some people think saving money is good, but others think that spending money is a better way to enjoy life. Discuss both views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge.

There are controversial opinions about whether people had better save money or spend it. In my opinion, both views are right, as long as there is a balance. First, people usually need to save money in order to ensure themselves the possibility to face unforeseen expenditures and, possibly, emergencies. Even though life can be planned and organized in advance, there may always be setbacks, due to personal or external issues, that force people to change their plans and to use savings to tackle the new situation. For instance, an Italian region recently suffered from a sudden flood, that devastated houses and lands. As a consequence, the inhabitants of the interested areas need to use their savings to repair damage and restart their working activities, given that government funds will cover only a portion of their loss. In addition, saving money may give people a feeling of safety that allows them to enjoy, even if cautiously, their days without bothering too much about the future. On the other hand, I would argue that money has to be spent, sooner or later, and that saving does not mean that all money has to be kept away. People who do not enjoy life, because they prefer to save all their money, do not really live, but just survive. In fact, keeping money in a bank account while just working is not the right way to live, and it prevents individuals from understanding the real meaning of life. Moreover, it is not possible to know whether someone is granted a long or a short existence, and, consequently, whether there is or not the possibility to enjoy the money that has been saved up. I have known people, in my country, who spent most of their existence giving up holidays or other pleasant activities in order to keep a significant sum for the years of retirement. Then they fell ill before that time, so that they lost the opportunity to really enjoy their life. In conclusion, my opinion is that it is important to save money and not to spend all of it on leisure and enjoyable activities, but only a part of the income should be put away, because happiness means having pleasant and fulfilling days all life long, not just in a far and unpredictable future.