Many people prefer to watch foreign films rather than locally produced films. Why could this be? Should governments give more financial support to local film industries?

Overseas films have outweighed domestically made ones in many countries. While there is a variety of factors for this phenomenon, I do not think it is a good idea for governments to do financial intervention in this field. There is a range of considerations why an audience chooses foreign movies instead of local ones. Many countries have not had a professional film industry, so their genres of motion pictures are still limited, and cannot meet all the demands of their local audience. Whereas, some areas like Hollywood, Hongkong or Bollywood have advanced techniques and abundant film content. For example, Hollywood is famous for its action, adventure and science fiction movies, and they have dominated the box office all over the world. Moreover, learning a foreign language has become a must in today’s society, and besides entertainment value, watching foreign motion pictures is seen as an efficient way to practice the language. However, I do not think governments should pour money into this industry. I believe how much money they spend on this, they will not be able to compete with Hollywood or other mature filmmakers, and therefore this is just a waste of national resources. In addition, this industry does not benefit normal people in their daily lives, thus I suppose this fund should go to vital public services instead. For example, we all use schools, hospitals and roads, and we all need the security that the police provide, but we are all okay without watching this kind of entertainment. If national authorities did not waste money on this, many people could be lifted out of poverty or given a better quality of life. In conclusion, I can understand why many film lovers choose foreign movies, but it is not a reasonable way for governments to use economic leverage to tackle this problem.