Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Others think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

The question of whether advertising does affect people or not is very topical today, as so many people are struggling with financial worries and they are trying to spend their money on essential products and save more money. There are valid arguments on both sides which I will discuss now. On the one hand, it is often said that advertising has a great effect on people’s unconsciousness and leads them into buying something they don’t really need. Secondly, there are many experts and psychologists working for commercial companies in order to produce the most effective advertising. For instance, every single adult has got something useless in their house which they’ve bought it recently, However, they haven’t used it even once and if you ask them why they’ve bought it they would tell you that they don’t really know the reason and this is exactly the invisible effect of successful advertising. On the other hand, opponents of this debate point to society’s awareness of persuasive advertising. Many people consider advertising totally as a deception. For example, it is really common while watching a TV programme which is advertising a product, somebody changes the channel and considers that advertisement as something which is deceiving the society. To conclude, the public is much more aware of convincing advertising and tries to prevent being deceived by it. But powerful companies will always find a way to affect society’s unconsciousness. So, I feel advertising is still successful in persuading the public and changing their minds about buying a useless product instead of something more essential.