Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

The question of whether the main environmental issue of our generation is the loss of some kinds of animals and some species of plants or not is a controversial topic today, as many people are struggling with environmental worries. There are valid arguments on both sides which I will discuss now. On the one hand, opponents of this debate that considers the loss of some species as the main problem, point to the lack of fresh water as the most important crisis that our planet is facing. The amount of fresh and sweet water is going to end in the near future and there is a great concern about providing drinking water for the next generation. Secondly, many experts maintain that global warming is the second priority to be concerned about. The temperature of the earth has increased since the industrial revolution and in a few years, it’s going to affect every living creature’s life. For instance, global warming has caused a change in the amount of rain, which affects farming and consequently, it would affect the amount of food which is produced by farming. So, this lack of food will affect all societies. On the other hand, it is said that the extinction of different kinds of animals and plants is going to affect the whole climate and finally the humans' lives. For example, some species of plants are really efficient in producing oxygen which is essential for breathing. So, the loss of these plants is going to cause serious problems for the human being. To conclude, all environmental issues should be taken seriously. But there are main issues which are a priority, such as the lack of fresh water. I feel there are more urgent problems than the loss of some species of plants and animals that should be worried about. Unless they are as important as others, the priority of some problems outweighs the others.