There is a lot of pressure on young people today to succeed academically. As a result, some people believe that non-academic subjects, such as physical education and cookery, should be removed from the school syllabus so that children can concentrate on academic work. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words.

Nowadays, youngsters go through a constant stress rush in order to achieve academic success. Many people argue that more importance should be given to traditional school subjects rather than non-academic ones. In my opinion, I strongly disagree with the statement and this essay will expose several reasons. First of all, all subjects from the school syllabus are relevant whether academic or not. Schools aim to teach the younger ones moral values such as tolerance and sharing and, that is something academic subjects do not teach. Furthermore, they focus on preparing them to be members of society as well. Although academic subjects are important to obtain skills and knowledgement that, later will provide these boys and girls the possibility of getting a higher education and next a work that suits them, the relevancy of matters such as physical education, cookery or music should not be discarded. Secondly, these non-academic subjects tend to relieve stress caused by Math, Science or History. In addition, they are vital to prepare the young’s for society. For example, regarding physical education is crucial for teenagers to understand that exercised bodies are healthier. As for cookery, it can be an awakening call for a future career besides becoming handy when the time of living alone comes. In conclusion, all subjects are important in a way of generating a good citizen towards society, whether professionally or in character. These are the main reasons that from my point of view lead me to disagree with the statement.