Nowadays many people prefer to study or live in foreign countries. While studying and living abroad brings many benefits to individuals, it also has a number of disadvantages. What are the advantages and disadvantages of leaving your country to live or study abroad? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In recent times, the number of people who want to study or live abroad are increasing sharply. Though, moving to a foreign nation has many advantages it also has its downsides and this essay will examine both sides with empirical evidence. To begin with, people tend to move to another country for various reasons. Firstly, for a better standard of living. They want to settle down in a country which is sophisticated and a better environment which is more secure than the country they are currently residing in. For instance, Indians prefer to migrate to countries like America and London. Secondly, for a high income. In some countries, many jobs are highly paid and the government protects and supports foreign workers. Singapore pays sanitary workers a minimum salary of 1000$ which is 10 times the salary paid in India. Hence, people want to settle down in countries where the living and future are better. On the other hand, few people return back to their native because they cannot cope with loneliness. Settling down in a new country might not seem as easy as it looks. Due to the difference in culture, people find it difficult to find friends. Furthermore, international students fail in some subjects as the education system is quite different from their home country. In addition to this, the cost of living is also to be considered when moving abroad. For example, the rent of a studio room in Singapore is around 1200 SGD which is quite expensive. To summarize, moving to a country either for study, study or to settle down has many benefits like higher pay and better living conditions but it also has many disadvantages like culture and cost of living.