Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write atleast 250 words.

Lab-tested medicines and treatments by well-trained doctors taken at the right time prevent serious illnesses as well as keep us healthy and happy. However, these days people with health issues are choosing different therapies rather than consulting a medical professional. This essay will discuss the harmfulness of this negative trend to the health of individuals Firstly, the reason that the trend of people turning to alternative therapeutics is on the rise is because of the abundant availability of non-verified sources of treatment on the internet, local ‘medicine-men’ or even relatives. Consequently, their condition is aggravated leading to worsening of symptoms and possibly fatal results. For example, casual browsing through Instagram reels shows hundreds of remedies by non-credentialed experts on various physical ailments and conditions whose followers blindly copy their suggestions. Secondly, home remedies based on say Ayurveda are not expensive and do not require any visits to hospitals or doctors, which seem very attractive to most of the population because they cannot afford heavy medical bills. For instance, it is cheaper to treat yourself with an Ayurvedic remedy such as a spoonful of honey and pepper thrice a day, if you contract chest congestion, rather than spend thousands of rupees on doctor visits and pills. The possibility of the infection dragging on for weeks does not deter them from choosing this alternative. To conclude, although healing through trained physicians and well-researched medicines are more certain, a rising number of people are resorting to alternative medicines which are not backed by solid studies, because of the easy availability on the Internet of affordable cures. As this trend is not able to solve their health problems it is causing them great harm.